Courses

For catalogue numbers and room locations, please go to:  https://w2prod.sis.yorku.ca/Apps/WebObjects/cdm

Note: The content on this page is currently in the process of being updated and may be periodically unavailable while it is under construction. Thank you for your patience.

Fall 2021

6150 3.0 Satire: Twisting World Literature

Instructor

Julia Creet
Office: TBD
E–mail: creet@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. TBD

Course Description

6311 3.0 Allegories of the Pastoral: Aesthetic Communities

Instructor

Karen Valihora
Office: 540 Atkinson College
E–mail: valihora@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. 66397

Course Description

6450 3.0 19th Century British Fiction: Historical Novels, Novel Histories

Instructor

Tina Y. Choi
Office: TBD
E–mail: tinayc@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. TBD

Course Description

6564 3.0 Shakespeare and Contemporary Drama: Redressing the Canon

Instructor

Elizabeth Pentland
Office: 742 Atkinson College
E–mail: pent@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. TBD

Course Description

6776 3.0 Seminar-Workshop in Creative Writing: Poetry

Instructor

Andy Weaver
Office: TBD
E–mail: aweaver@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. TBD

Course Description

6778 3.0 Food Writing

Instructor

David Goldstein
Office: TBD
E–mail: dgolds@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. TBD

Course Description

6998 3.0 Studies in Contemporary Literature: Digital Culture in Literature and Theory

Instructor

Marcus Boon
Office: 722 Atkinson College
E–mail: mboon@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. TBD

Course Description

Winter 2022

6000 0.0: Literary Research Methods

Instructor

Lisa Sloniowski
Office: TBD
E–mail: lisasl@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. TBD

Course Description

6157 3.0: Comparative and World Literature Seminar: History and Practice

Instructor

Susan Ingram
Office: 242 Vanier College
E–mail: singram@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. 77023

Course Description

6544 3.0 Sophocles’ Antigone in Modern and Contemporary International Re-visionings

Instructor

Marcia Blumberg
Office: 644 Atkinson College
E–mail: blumberg@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. TBD

Course Description

6695 3.0 Muslim Women Write Back

Instructor

Mehraneh Ebrahimi
Office: 728 Atkinson College
E–mail: mehr@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. 22143

Course Description

6714 3.0 Considering Black Canada

Instructor

Leslie Sanders
Office: 225 Vanier College
E–mail: leslie@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. 66604

Course Description

6743 3.0 The International Avant-garde

Instructor

Stephen Cain
Office: TBD
E–mail: sjcain@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. TBD

Course Description

6779 3.0 Seminar-Workshop in Creative Writing: Fiction

Instructor

Michael Helm
Office: TBD
E–mail: mhelm@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. TBD

Course Description

6988 3.0 Girlhood

Instructor

Deanne Williams
Office: 708 Atkinson College
E–mail: dmw@yorku.ca
Phone: ext. TBD

Course Description

Directed Reading

(ONLY available for students registered in the Graduate Program in English)
Students have the option of taking a Directed Reading course with a faculty member provided something like it is not available in the current curriculum and provided it does not overlap significantly with a course taken previously. Students are normally allowed one reading course during their entire graduate tenure at York.
* Cross-listed course. Courses that are cross-listed will reserve a certain number of seats for students in each of the cross-listed disciplines.
** Taught at the Glendon Campus
+ This is the core course for the Diploma in World Literature